Lady Hawks 2013 D2 State Champions!

“I’m so happy and proud of our Nanakuli High School Lady Hawks for winning the school’s and the Oahu Interscholastic Association’s first Division II state softball championship!” said Senator Maile Shimabukuro. “Once again, congratulations to coach Ricky Gusman and his staff, all the players, the school, and the entire Nanakuli ‘ohana! You continue to bring honor and pride to the entire West Side community!”

Lady Hawks 2013 roster: Lauren Ku OF/IF, Pearl Kealoha OF, Malu Kea-Basques OF, Ashley Van Gieson 1B, Keanani Chai OF, Amy Vitale C, Daria Kawaauhau 2B, Keisha Silva OF, Chyanne Koko P, Alexis Paulo-Meyers SS, Brayann Kekawa-Fred OF, Kelcie DeFreitas 3B, Raynette Meyers OF, Precious Paulo-Meyers C/IF, Emma Kawaiaea P/OF, Shaina Souza OF, Katherine Lundgren-Aiwohi 1B, Anela Woods 3B, Shaiann Treu IF.

[Note: The excerpts and photo below are from the Star-Advertiser, 5.4.13: “An OIA first: Nanakuli wins D-II state title“; photo by Rodney S. Yap.]

Nanakuli Golden Hawks - first D2 OIA state champion!

Nanakuli Golden Hawks – first D2 OIA state champion!

[The Nanakuli Golden Hawks beat ILH champion St. Francis, 5-4, to win their first Division II State Softball Championship title.]

Coach Ricky Gusman

Coach Ricky Gusman

“Right now it feels surreal. I was worried,” said Nanakuli coach Ricky Gusman. “Of course St. Francis is a powerhouse coming from the ILH. The OIA has never taken (Division II) states, I checked back and Waimea was the last team to break the string of ILH champions.

With the scored tied at 3 in the top of the seventh, Ashley Van Gieson delivered a two-run single to left.

“It felt really good because I did it for my team, not just me, but for my teammates and all of Nanakuli,” Van Gieson said.

Junior Chyanne Koko, voted the tournament’s MVP, pitched a complete game and struck out nine, including the final out with two runners on base.


Nanakuli Dominates All-Tournament Team!

Chyanne Koko

Chyanne Koko, tournament MVP. Photo from KHON2 video 5.8.12.

Gaylan Matagiese, C, Waimea
Kyana Hirokane, 1B, Kauai
Alexis Paulo-Meyers, SS, Nana.
Ashley Van Gieson, 1B, Nana.
Sienna Santiago SS, Waimea
Rachel Carlos, OF, St. Francis
Emma Kawaiaea, OF, Nanakuli
Codi Kualii, OF, KS-Hawaii
Raisa Strom-Okimoto, P, Aiea
Shaye Simms P, St. Francis
Kelsie Hee, U, St. Francis
Most Outstanding Player Chyanne Koko, P, Nanakuli

Related Articles:
Lady Hawks Repeat as OIA White Division Softball Champions!
Congratulations to the Nanakuli Lady Hawks!
Nanakuli Lady Hawks – OIA softball champs!
Leeward Coast Parade of All Champions Sep. 1 – Photos