Leeward Community College-Wai`anae Honored by UH Board of Regents, and Scheduled To Be Recognized by Governor

(L to R): BOR Chair Eric Martinson, Chancellor Manny Cabral, Danny Wyatt, Danielle Saito, Jennifer Wharton, Emi Kaneshiro, William Longanecker, Summer Miles, Jayson Corrales, Jean StavRue-Pe’ahi, Genai U’ilani Keliikuli, Walterbea Aldeguer, Pres. MRC Greenwood, Darwin Bohnet, VP John Morton.  [Click the image to enlarge]

The LeeCC Waianae Team, also M. Cabral, Jim Goodman, Ron Umehira, Mike Pecsok.  [Click the image to enlarge].

The Leeward Community College – Wai`anae Education Center Team was acknowledged by the Board of Regents and UH President MRC Greenwood at the BOR meeting on July 7, 2011 for its exemplary service to the University of Hawaii.

The LeeCC Wai`anae Team has been selected as the University’s nominee for the 2011 Governor’s Award for Team Excellence Award of Merit (Team of the Year). The Team includes Walterbea Aldeguer, Darwin Bohnet, Jayson Corrales, Genai U’ilani Keliikuli, Emi Kaneshiro, Scott Kuraoka, William Longanecker, Summer Miles, Danielle Saito, Jean StavRue-Pe’ahi, Jennifer Wharton, and Danny Wyatt. The Team was nominated by Laurie Lawrence, LeeCC Wai`anae Coordinator.  In addition, the Team will be recognized at the Governor’s Awards Ceremony on October 14, 2011 at the State Capitol Auditorium.  Congratulations all!

Free Showing of ‘An Inconvenient Truth’ – Aug 23, 6pm

Click the image to zoom in.

Sen. Shimabukuro and The Hawaii Institute for Human Rights will provide the community with an update on climate change. The Institute will also offer a free showing of the Nobel Peace Prize-winning documentary, An Inconvenient Truth, as well as a few children’s short films about global warming.


6:00PM TO 9:00PM


Dinner will be served on a first-come, first-served basis.

Potluck dishes welcome